Picking up a hook instead of the needle…

Although I did ply my needle this week, working at least 10 hours on my petit point project, I also crocheted 2 infant hats.  There are a number of young mothers-to-be in the community expecting to deliver in the next month so I decided I would make some warm winter hats to help stave off Edmonton’s cold winter.

Baby Size Inuit Hunter's Hat

I was taught to crochet the Inuit Hunter’s Hat (also known as a “Pang Hat” as I believe these hats originated in the small Arctic community of Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada) in 1990 while my husband, Tim and I and our four children lived in Pond Inlet, a small community north of Pangnirtung on the tip of Baffin Island.  By the way, it is the only thing I crochet. I have made many hats over the years.  More recently I have made them for my grandchildren as well as teaching 4 of my colleagues at work how to make them.

Me with daughter Chelsea-Lyne in April 1990

Chelsea-Lyne is wearing the first hat I ever made. We were both so young then. Chelsea-Lyne recently celebrated her 20th birthday and has her own CD out. Check her out at www.chelsealyne.com. Here’s to the memories.

8 thoughts on “Picking up a hook instead of the needle…

  1. Anne says:

    Do you have or can you advise, as to where I can find a pattern fo an adult Pang hat.

    Many thanks, Anne

    • threadlore says:

      Hi Anne,

      I was taught to crochet these hats by an Inuit lady while living in Pond Inlet. I learned by watching and unfortunately I don’t know the crochet terms. However I have recognized that a number of people would like to have the pattern so I will try to educate myself on the terms and put a pattern together. I am more than happy to share.

    • threadlore says:

      Hi Anne,

      I have posted a tutorial for the Inuit Hunter’s Hat/Pang hat. Hope this is helpful.

  2. gill magnan says:

    Hello,
    I lived in the western arctic (Holman Island) in the mid eighties. We didn’t make the Pang hats there but I would definitely love to try – just an idea would be fine – no fancy crochet terms necessary.

    Thanks Gill

    • threadlore says:

      Hi Gill,

      I have posted a tutorial on how to make an Inuit Hunter’s hat. Hope this is helpful.

  3. Lynn says:

    Hi again,

    I haven’t forgotten to send you the pattern for the hat I made, pic sent in e-mail. But I am “translating” it to US crochet terms as the one I have is in UK crochet terms. So that will be typed up and sent to you by e-mail as soon as I finish translating/typing it. Feel free to post it here if you wish. I listended to some of Chelsea Lyne’s songs earlier and was most impressed by her beautiful, unique voice.

  4. Debbie says:

    I would love to learn how to crochet these hats, they are so nice, could you send me the instructions, thank you

Leave a Reply

