Woodcut Print or Petit Point?

A woodcut  print is an artistic technique in relief printing. One carves an image into the surface of a block of wood, removing all the non-printing parts. By rolling black ink over the surface of the block, only the surface area will become the print on paper.

Nativity with Midwife

I received a Christmas card this year called  Nativity with Midwife , a woodcut print from Eric Gill’s Book of Engravings published in 1929. It  reminded me of how much I like the look of woodcut prints. In fact I have been working on a petit point project that resembles a woodcut print. I took a photograph taken by my son-in-law Jessie and turned it into a black and white image.  I then turned the black and white image into a needle point chart.

Aria & Olee

The photo is of my grandchildren, Aria and Olee, at the top of Mount Carmel in Haifa, Israel overlooking the Baha’i  Gardens. I am using a 28 count Irish linen and black DMC cotton embroidery thread. I began working on this (on and off) since April 2008. and I am almost halfway there. You can see from what I have already completed how the project is taking on the look of a woodcut print. I am looking forward to completing it so I can frame it and put it on my wall. I will be sure to post the final results once I have finished it.

Petitpoint Project

Until next time, happy stitching!
6 thoughts on “Woodcut Print or Petit Point?

  1. Courtney says:

    Woo hoo! That’s for two things, 1) starting a blog and 2) what a fantastic picture I very much like the look of the needlepoint

    • threadlore says:

      Thanks Courtney. I decided I needed a way to document what I am doing. It is also a way to move forward on the many projects iI keep saying I want to so. This year’s focus is to experiment and produce different kinds of needlework.

  2. That’s going to be so great when it’s finished! (It’s great now, but you know what I mean… 🙂 ). It really does look like a woodcut print.

    What are the dimensions of it?

    • threadlore says:

      Hi Janet,

      Thanks for your encouraging comments. I must admit I am happy with the results so far. The time it takes to do it will surely be worth it in the end. The petit point piece will be approximately 11 x 8 inches.

      Lucie

  3. Juliet says:

    Yeah, your blogging! can’t wait to see the finished product! I love woodcuts too.

Leave a Reply

